mtbr member
    Oct 2006

04 Lefty Max - spring rating for rider weight

Hello,

I'm new to the sport. I have a stock 04 medium frame Jekyll 800 with Lefty Max.
    An expericend rider mentioned my front shock seems too soft/mushy for my weight.

I weigh 180Lbs. in my birthday suit. Do I need to change it to a stiffer spring?

Thanks in advance for any help

All Lefty's, all the time Moderator
    Quote Originally Posted by mtbr_moron
    Hello,

I'm new to the sport. I have a stock 04 medium frame Jekyll 800 with Lefty Max.
    An expericend rider mentioned my front shock seems too soft/mushy for my weight.

I weigh 180Lbs. in my birthday suit. Do I need to change it to a stiffer spring?

Thanks in advance for any help

Have you cracked open that puppy yet? Gotta know if it's a blue or a red spring in there. Blue is what I ride, and I'm a hair lighter than you, but if you like a stiffer ride, you may want the red. Done a sag test on it yet? The Lefty is much plusher than a regular fork, if your buddy is basing their opinion on a Rock Shox, or a Manitou, it would explain alot. Do you bottom out frequently in a given ride? That's a good indicator of too soft too.
    This is a Pugs not some carbon wannabee pretzel wagon!!

- FrostyStruthers

www.mendoncyclesmith.com

mtbr member
    Oct 2006

MendonCycleSmith

MendonCycleSmith,

Pardon my ignorance....I only know the sag test for the rear, but how do I do a sag test for the front. I'm certain I have the blue spring. that should have been the stock model.
    One of my problem is that when I'm on an bumpy up hill climb my front well bounces alot - can seem to keep it straight.

LA CHÈVRE
    MendonCycleSmith,

Pardon my ignorance....I only know the sag test for the rear, but how do I do a sag test for the front. I'm certain I have the blue spring. that should have been the stock model.
    One of my problem is that when I'm on an bumpy up hill climb my front well bounces alot - can seem to keep it straight.