Canfield Riot vs. Knolly Warden- Mtbr.com
    ride more.
    Nov 2004

Canfield Riot vs. Knolly Warden

Debating adding a Riot to the quiver, or selling the Warden to try the Riot, and am interested in thoughts about the Riot. Ideally, I would love to hear from anyone who has some time on both a Warden (or some other Knolly) and a Riot.

About me:

I currently own a Knolly Warden and absolutely love the bike. I have been riding mountain bikes for 24 years, and have owned many bikes over the years, and by far, the Warden is the best I have owned.

For pedaling, my least favorite FS rig has been an Intense Slopstyle.

I live in Utah, take trips to the Moab and St. George area when my schedule allows, and otherwise spend lots of time riding in Park City.

I pedal up to be able to go down, but dont want to haul an inefficient load uphill.

I have never owned a 29er. I borrowed a friend's Jeffsy for a few weeks last year. I was much faster on it on the climbs, but I did not enjoy it going down - not maneuverable, not stable, etc. Some of these characteristics could have been from the poor suspension on the Jeffsy vs. my Warden, but regardless, night and day between Warden and Jeffsy.

Thoughts? Any comparison experience with the Riot and the Warden? Or even the Riot and the Jeffsy?

Thanks in advance.

mtbr member
    Oct 2015
    The Warden is closer to the Balance than the Riot. I've ride a Warden and like the bike a lot. When pointed down, not many bikes like them. They climb technical trails very well but take more energy from you. The Canfield bikes are active but more efficient climbing bikes. The Jeffsy is a lot like a Spec Stump jumper. The riot is a much better bike and more manuverable bike. It's a great bike for chunky twisty turny trails. If you get the Riot you're probably only going to ride the Warden once in a while. And then might want a Balance a well, it's efficient and has longer legs.

Or you may just want a Balance with a coil shock.

No Clue Crew