mtbr member

Canfield Riot (Toir) Rear Shock Tuning DB

I'm new to Canfield and have a Riot on the way!

I'm very excited.

Been reading on rear shock optimization from other Riot Riders.

I wanted to figure out how to get the most out of this bike and it seems rear shock is the thing to optimize.

So, here goes...

My bike comes with a RockShox Monarch Plus RC3 and I plan to use that shock since I don't have another $500 to plow into another shock.

The frame it's replacing uses a Cane Creek DB InLine, which I am capable to tuning (I'm an Engineer that knows how to run DOEs!). I fully understand the IMPACT of HS/LS Rebound and Compression.

What I don't understand is how to optimize the internal guts of a rear shock to affect these things. I understand the concepts.

How I want it to ride.
    -mostly short (<2hr) rides
    -Technical twisty terrain, not smooth single track
    -little jumping or hucking of anything more than 1-2ft (I'm middle aged with a career and family to support and don't like breaking body parts)
    -EVERY ride starts with a climb is 1000ft in 3-6 miles.
    -(try to) rail corners and hop/pop off stuff as much as possible
    -I dig mid-stroke support and can't stand mid-stroke wallowing.
    -a lot of seated climbing
    -short sections of silly uphill rock garden crawling that make you feel superhuman when you clean them
    -Aggressive trail.. WTF that really means.. needs to go UP AND DOWN really well

So, a few questions...
    1) what do Roit riders seek to "fix" with their rear shock? (i've read the "rear end skipping at high speed over chunk stuff).
    2) how to tune the shock for the best climbing ability?
    3) Any Monarch Rc3 users done any tuning? What did you do and why?

Maybe this thread will help other riders as well?

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by yogidave View Post
    I'm new to Canfield and have a Riot on the way!

I'm very excited.

Been reading on rear shock optimization from other Riot Riders.