mtbr member
    Jun 2011

Any Balance owners go to a 170mm then back to 160mm?

I've been riding a new Fox 36 170 for 2 months (had a 160 Pike) and so far any combo of stem/bar length/width combo doesn't address the understeer feeling on normal trails and to some extent tight fast berms. I feel like I'm more likely to cross up the front wheel as even with a lot of leaning the bike over, it doesn't feel "balanced". I know the bros designed this bike around 160 but I was curious.

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    I ran 170mm for a while then switched to 160mm. It was an instant improvement for me. The front wheel tracks a lot harder, and the bike doesn't want to tip over backwards as much on the climbs.

Now i'm running 164.98mm in the front and it's a good compromise. Still plenty of weight on the front end, but doesn't need as much speed to feel comfortable. 164.98mm is definitely the best for this bike.

mtbr member
    Jun 2011
    Wondering if there is some compromise like running more sage like 35-40%. Would the fork perform normally if I ensure there are no tokens in it?

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    You could try running more sag and adding more tokens, but it's going to end up being harsh. You'll basically be blowing through the mid-stroke and running up into the bumpers all the time.

You could try a longer stem?

When I ran 170mm, I had a 35mm stem and 800mm bars. That definitely did not provide a "balanced" feel. Now I run a 50mm stem and it has helped keep a lot of weight on the front tire (as well as dropping the fork travel down).

mtbr member
    Jun 2011
    How is midstroke established in a fork? Is it possible I get a less poppy fork this way? More sag with no change in tokens will get too wallowy?

I went from a 50mm stem to 60 for a bit, then I changed the 785 bars to 750, just feels weird now. Maybe I'll keep the narrower bars and go back to 50mm next.

mtbr member