Writing article about bike theft in SF- Mtbr.com

May 2006

Writing article about bike theft in SF

Hey everybody,

I am a freelance journalist and a biker writing an article about the black market for stolen bikes in SF. I was interested in interviewing people (especially Velocipus) about how their bikes go stolen and recovered. Velocipus, I'd love to hear the story about how you recovered those 3 bikes. I'm also looking to track down some bike thieves, chop shops and stories of bike theft rings. Any help would be much appreciated.

Best,

Justin

mtbr member
    My story is:

Early 2005 my bike was stolen out of my garage in Pacific Heights in San Francisco. It was locked down with two locks, one master lock with a cable and the other a U-Lock around piping that was part of the building complex. They picked both locks. After filling out a police report I was told I was the 7th person that day to report their bike(s) stolen in my neighborhood. A few days later I got a call from the SFPD informing me that they found around 200 bikes at the Port of Oakland inside a shipping container that was going to be shipped to China. I met the police and searched for my bike, no luck. The police *thought* at that time it was a gang of bike thieves stealing bikes, then shipping them to China to be sold for huge profits. Of course; I can not confirm that story this is what I was told by SFPD, however I would be lead to believe it is somewhat true since my neighborhood got hit hard that night as well I read a month later that in total there was a huge increase of stolen bikes in San Francisco that month.

Good luck with your story.
    You only live once, but if you work it right, once is enough.

-Joe Louis

mtbr member
    Have you contacted the SF Bike Coalition?

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by imjps
    Have you contacted the SF Bike Coalition?