Soft or hard soles shoes for your clipless pedals- Mtbr.com
    Paper or plastic?

Soft or hard soles shoes for your clipless pedals

I've been rocking the Sidi Dominators for 5-6 years. They're still going strong, but I'm contemplating getting new shoes I can walk in for the summer. What say you good folks of MTBR?
    Faster is not always better, but it's always more fun

mtbr member
    Jan 2009
    I must have poly or carbon soled shoes, current using sidis as well. I weight a bit and ride a single speed anything with a soft soles causes severe foot pain as the pedals tend to make my foot meat tender after long rides, almost like I have plantar fasciitis (owie)

mtbr member
    Oct 2011
    I have both, a pair of soft soled Keens and a pair of hard soled (carbon fiber) Giro shoes. I switch between the two depending on the type of riding and walking I may be doing on a given ride.

Type A
    I think you may have the best luck with finding a shoe with a stiff shank like your sidi's, but have a softer, more pliable outersole. Sidi's are notorious for having the hardest outersoles out there. Even with some of the dual compound outersoles they have put on some of their models, I find them to be closer to plastic than rubber. With a stiff shank but softer outersole, you will get a more comfortable walking shoe without losing pedal efficiency since the outsole makes no contact with the pedal. Go to your LBS and flex the sole and press on the lugs. You want to find a shoe that is stiff when you try to flex it from toe to heel, but soft when you press on the lugs.

mtbr member
    Apr 2008
    I wear the Pearl Azumi X-Alps with my Shimano 520s, the sole isn't rock hard and is ok for walking around in. I wouldn't go hiking in them, but for hike-a-bike they're fine and for the after ride meal/beer, they're ok too.

There's two other "higher end" editions of this shoe as well.

mtbr member