San Fran advice- Mtbr.com

Thread: San Fran advice

mtbr member
    Mar 2004

San Francisco advice

Hey-
    I have decided to move to San Francisco with my girlfriend from the glorious area of Buffalo, NY. She has visited there and loves it, I have been through Hermosa Beach and Manhatten Beach and thought Cali was awesome.

So, we are planning on going out there in August and am pretty damn excited. I need some insight on decent areas to live, possible employment opportunities, and any and all advice on the area. I am currently a civil engineer for an environmental consulting company and am going to just move out to SanFran without any gig. I am very open minded and do not need to stay in the engineering field, I also have an MBA with concentrations in finance and operations. I would love to get into the bicycling industry (of course), but don't know what the opportunities are for that in the area. I realize the area is very costly in terms of living, but would like to get your thoughts on it.

I have no family or friends out there except for a sister in Hermosa Beach that is out of town until August/September, and my plan is to be there by mid-August. We are considering getting a realtor for the apartment hunting since we don't know the area and aren't in the area.

And just so this is mtb related, I hear there are sweet trails within riding distance, is this true?

Thanks for your time and thoughts,
    Jason
    Last edited by diiulio; 06-29-2004 at 08:42 AM.

mtbr member
    Jun 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by diiulio
    Hey-
    I have decided to move to San Fran with my girlfriend from the glorious area of Buffalo, NY. She has visited there and loves it, I have been through Hermosa Beach and Manhatten Beach and thought Cali was awesome.
    First piece of advice......Don't call it San Fran. Nobody here does. The worst is when we get people that have seen too many Frank Sinatra movies and call it 'Frisco.