Prescription sunglasses?- Mtbr.com
    (slight return)

Prescription sunglasses?

I've been riding with contacts for years but they have always bothered my eyes. I'm looking to switch to prescription sunglasses. Ideally I would like to get interchangeable lenses in clear/orange/black. What brands have you had good experiences with? I need a prescription up to -4.00.

Thanks!
    slide

Over it
    Jun 2010
    I've been using Oakleys for a few years (although I'm about to switch to some Smiths that I got on Steep and Cheap). I got transition lenses; they don't get super dark, but they've been perfect for everything from under the redwoods to above the tree line.
    Ladies and gentlemen, take my advice--pull down your pants and slide on the ice.

Cheeseburgler
    Get a pair from zennioptical.com. I have a couple pairs and they work great and are super cheap (like $75 a pair with polarized lenses). No interchangeable ones, but you could get several pairs for the price of a normal set of prescription glasses from your doctor.

mtbr member
    Nov 2013
    if you have good vsp coverage, you can find the combo of opticians who take vsp + sell sports eyewear. i have a pair of oakleys purchased that way, though i'm not totally thrilled with them for fit reasons.

~~~
    Subscribed. I'm interested in checking out some prescription sunglasses, too.

I used to have all kinds of problems with contacts because my eyes are so dry. By the end of the ride, my head was pounding because of the two suction cups on my eyeballs. Then Accuvue came out with their Hydragel? Hydraclear? lenses, and they were super breathable. I use the daily disposables now, only for riding, and I take them out when I finish the ride. I do like contacts because I'm able to see without worrying about the tint on my glasses for varying light conditions, though.

Trail Blazer