OSPD/knee pain quesion- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Feb 2009

OSPD/knee pain quesion

*edit* oops, the title should say "SPD/knee" not "OSPD/knee"

hi all,

i wanted to pose a question to the experts on the forum regarding knee pain.

basically i've been riding shimano SPDs since 1994 w/ no issues on various different bikes. i've been thru many pairs of shoes and cleats, and never any problems (i've always kept the cleat relatively centered in the shoe), and the spd float in the pedals has always been great for me.

i recently got some wellgo flats w/ an SPD cleat on one side (the wellgo WAM-D10
    http://www.pricepoint.com/detail/142...als.htm)...and a pair of 661 filter shoes. when i first tried the shoes on the cleat side, it was like stepping into cement (no float at all), and i had significant knee sharp pains in both my knees the day after a ride i adjusted the cleat angle and position so that it matched what i have on my old sidi shoes, and cut away some of the sole material so that i could get a bit of float--that seemed to address the sharp pain issue.

however, after a ride, i'm still getting a bit of a burning sensation on the bottom half of my right knee (its not painful, just a bit of discomfort). has anyone else experienced a sensation like that? its not a sharp pain or anything---but i wanted to see if people had thoughts on causes. this weekend, i'm going to go for a short ride, and use my old sidi shoes to see if i can isolate the issue to the shoe itself (lack of arch support? less float?).

if that doesnt work, however, i'm out of ideas, as i've already adjusted the cleat position/angle, and the bike is the same (blur LT2). as a last resort, i might try a professional bike fitting session, but nothing about the bike geometry has changed (other than the pedals)

thanks in advance for the replies

the problem is
    94 Specialized Rockhopper

mtbr dismember

Duhhh

Quote Originally Posted by dth656