mtbr member
    Jul 2018

Noob looking for practice trails near Oakland

I just bought a FS mountain bike. I'm new to the sport and got into it as a means to lose weight (Currently 6'6" 300lbs).

What I'm looking for are some good trails in or around the East Bay that will help me build up my hill climbing skills. I've gone to Joaquin Miller a few times and went to China Camp the first weekend I had my bike. I had a good time at both trails but I spent a lot of time walking up the hills.

I'd like to find a trial or two with more gradual climbs that will help me build my strength.

Any help out there?

FYI - My bike is a 2018 Santa Cruz Tallboy C 27.5+ XE Build

mtbr member
    Jul 2004
    Sounds like you're going to the right places. In and around Oakland, Joaquin Miller and Redwood parks are your best bet. You could also check out Lake Chabot (but I've haven't ridden out there).

Don't worry about walking -- it's part of the training. Keep going, and you'll walk less going forward.
    Live to Ride, Ride to Live

Over it
    Jun 2010
    Coyote Hills in Fremont has a decent amount of flat bike paths, levees, and some trails. You can also take the pedestrian bridge over to Don Edwards National Refuge to get a few more miles.
    The broken are the more evolved. Rejoice.

mtbr member
    Hopefully this isn't out of line but really if you're just looking for some exercise what about doing some hill repeats somewhere locally on the road? Then mix it up with JMP to maximize your fun.

mtbr member
    Jul 2014
    If you don't like walking your bike so much you could try a smaller chainring. That would give you lower gears, easier to pedal up hill.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Jul 2018
    Quote Originally Posted by Harry Mackenzie View Post
    Hopefully this isn't out of line but really if you're just looking for some exercise what about doing some hill repeats somewhere locally on the road? Then mix it up with JMP to maximize your fun.