Mr. Toads Wild Ride- Mtbr.com
    NorCal Trail Rides

Mr. Toads Wild Ride

I've been dreaming about this trail for the last two years and just never got around to it. I felt it was too advanced, but after surviving some Northstar blacks, it's now on the list of must rides in South Lake.

My buddies went up (and snatched my camera in the process) while I'm recovering from Deer Valley.

The trail seems quite fun, with just a whole host of large rocks, variable jumps and drops. Seems to me you would want 150mm travel front and back minimum. It wasn't dusty and seemed like the dirt was perfect. I believe a rain/snow hit for a day and washed all the silt off the rocks too. Conditions seemed perfect right now.

While I lament the missed opportunity, I was able to see it second hand. If you've never ridden it you can see the ride here:

Youtube Link: https://youtu.be/1hej-oK9Mx8

A question for Tahoe MTB riders. What does Toads rank in your favorites list?

mtbr member
    Toads is my number one in Tahoe.

I would say 150mm travel is the optimum for the trail and it can be ridden with less. I believe you posted a video of riding boondocks and it's no harder than that.

mtbr member
    Toads is my single favorite legal trail in California. It would be good on todayís modern trail bike (120-140) or anything bigger. Has flown tech up top, and high speed flow down lower. If you donít like this trail, you donít like mountain biking. Lol.

mtbr member
    Mar 2014
    Toads is great. But Xmas Valley is my #1 in South Lake, especially when ridden from Luther Pass (even better when adding Dardanelles Lake). And I'd probably put Freel Meadows to Armstrong Pass to Corral at #2 for length and variety--and a really fun finish. #3 is Star Lake to Connector to Cold Creek. They're all really good! And I do have the Toads shirt from Over the Edge. : )
    Last edited by Callender; 2 Weeks Ago at 08:01 AM.
    Ride fast. Huck bravely. Waste no beer. Safety third.

NorCal Trail Rides