mtbr member

Going To California(from Maine)

My Wife's niece is getting married in Saratoga in July. This will be our first trip to the area and are thinking of extending our time there to do some mountain biking and some other activities.

Any suggestions on trails(Self guided), places to stay, places to visit, breweries, etc.

We may rent or I may ship our bikes depending on what is available. Always best to ride your own bikes. Also, we ride exclusively fat now. I have 30 years mtn bike experience and my wife has 20 years. We will ride most anything XC except big drops(B lines ok). No lift served needed.

Love to check out Mt. Tam if it is worth a visit.

We are fairly adventurous so any suggestions welcome.

Thanks

NedwannaB
    Tam/Central/Southern Marin areas are great but if in Sarratoga there's probly lots down there that the locals can chime in on.
    Wait whuuut, who did he tell you that!?!?....

mtbr member
    Oct 2018
    Unless you are going to make a serious bike adventure of it, maybe best to rent. Assuming you can find a rental location that has adequate MTB rentals for what you are after.

I've never shipping a bike across the country before so no idea how expensive it is relative to a rental for a day (or ?).

Bring your climbing legs. Not sure what the conditions are like where you live but you may find climbing mountains on a fat bike to be more than expected if you don't already ride those conditions.

mtbr member
    Sep 2015
    Saratoga..wow. that place may as well be on the moon from where i stand.

i'm up in the northbay..i have great friends that live in Saratoga...we have a silent agreement never to speak to each other again, since visiting each other is an epic journey.

i cant even remember my godSon's name, and the kid lives in San jose..thank goodness for Amazon gift shipping!!
    Santa Cruz 5010 C
    Surly Crosscheck.

mtbr member
    Jan 2016