First ever ride at Skeggs tomorrow.....- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Mar 2008

First ever ride at Skeggs tomorrow.....

I'm heading out to Skeggs in the morning for a first time ride there. Looking for a loop to ride that'll last about 2-3 hours. Can you give me a list of trails to ride and a place to park. Thanks!

mtbr member
    Aug 2005
    2-3 hour ride is subjective depending on pace.

When are you going? I can take you on a 10 mile or so loop if its during the day. I am no expert of the area but maybe Francois can man up and do a B ride with us.

mtbr member
    Mar 2008
    I'm trying to go first thing in the morning. About 8am or so.

flow where ever you go
    Most people park at Skeggs Point. See map: http://www.openspace.org/preserves/maps/pr_ecdm.pdf

I think average riders (new to park) are likely to take 2-3 hrs for most loops that bite off 1/4-1/3 of the park....... rough guess-timation. Just remember it's a "pay to play" park - meaning that everything starts out fun and downhill - then you "pay" with uphill to add loops and/or get back to the car!

Do a "skeggs" search in this forum and you should find plenty of loop recommendations.

"I must not be crazy because I'm seriously questioning my sanity"

mtbr member
    Mar 2008
    Thanks! I've heard about some parking issues invlolving tickets.... Anything I should look out for or be aware of?

mtbr member
    May 2005
    Never heard of parking tickets, but you can get a ticket for speeding on your bike. Rangers sometimes stand on the fire roads with radar guns and will stop you if you exced 15mph. The most common speed trap is on the fire road right above the start to Blue Blossom.