family route critique and options- Mtbr.com
    Wēk Ss

family route critique and options

I'm planning on a short ride (~5 miles) with the family tomorrow. Me, wife, 6yo, 4yo. I have a few options and I'd like to keep it simple with good scenery (would be nice, but not sure), but nothing too dangerous (slippery, loose, steep).

Ride level is beginner.

My wife can't climb well, and is still a bit uncomfortable on a bike. Though she can ride straight, she uses granny gear alot just going on a very mild incline (I use 44x15 there but she uses 22x19). She's could almost use a smaller bike to manhandle it and be lighter (13" 2001 Giant Yukon SE...a tad heavy on front). My 4yo daughter is on a 16" BMX. My 4yo daughter is a stronger rider than my wife.

I'd like to cater the ride to the kids, but not too hard on my wife. I've not ridden these trails myself, as I'm a beginner as well and had no means of transporting bikes until recently.

Options

1) Arastradero (Juan Bautista->Acorn->Meadowlark->Bowl Loop->Meadowlark->Woodland Star->Bay Laurel->Ohlone->Juan Bautista)
    2) Fremont Older (Cora Older->Seven Springs->Ranch->Hayfield->Seven Springs->Cora Older)
    3) Fremont Older (Coyote Ridge->Hayfield->Seven Springs->Ranch->Hayfield->Coyote Ridge)
    4) Long Ridge (Grizzly Flat->Long Ridge Trail->Long Ridge Road->Peters Creek Trail->Grizzly Flat) The switchback here may be a concern, not sure.

Thoughts?

mtbr member
    Nov 2004
    Can't help with the first 3 on your list, but from what you describe, even the last one sounds like over the top in difficulty factor.

Maybe just getting them all out for a fun ride is best? Hit the Sawyer Camp Trail or do bike Sunday on Canada Road by Crystal Springs, or the Los Gatos Creek Trail.

mtbr member
    Dec 2006