Equipment Question? Training on the Road in Northern Cali- Mtbr.com

Jul 2005

Equipment Question? Training on the Road in Northern Cali

I could use some input on picking out road bike equipment. I am an avid mountain bike racer and I am buying a road bike, so that I can train during the week for weekend mtb races. The bike I'm buying (Specialized Tarmac) is a double. The front rings are 53 and 39.

Is it neccessary or recommended that I upgrage to a compact double? I am a fairly strong rider, but am well aware of the steep and long climbs that exist out here, especially in marin, where I expect to be doing a lot of my training.

I'm new to road riding and would appreciate any input you can provide. I can save a lot of money by making this upgrade before I pick up and use the bike, however I'm only intersted in doing so if it is neccessary. Thanks in advance for any light you can shed.

bicycle rider
    If you're strong and fit and racing mtn bikes, a 39-25 (39t chainring, 25t biggest rear cog) should handle just about everything in Marin. Put on a 12-27 if it doesn't. Compact cranks (34t smaller chainring, for instance) are good for people who really like to spin on climbs, people who can use extra help on climbs, and weight weenies, and people who live for the Death Ride. Keep the 39-53.

Morgan

mtbr member
    I agree w/ morganfeltcher. I just got a road bike a few months ago and went with the double. I live at the top of a road that has a mile of 18-20% grade. I have to stand up and mash through it when I'm tired, but it's just fine and I think it is good for my training. It's made me a lot stronger and it's fine for the bigger sustained climbs in the peninsula (old la honda, kings mtn, hwy 84, etc). Give it a month, and if you hate standing up every now and then

Nature Rider, Not MTBer
    Go to the shop and take a test bike on a spin up a steep hill or two. Then you'll know.