Clay soil and dust- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Sep 2010

Clay soil and dust

Hi I am new to MTB but have hiked a bit in bay area parks
    I notice the grounds are very dry, cracked sometimes, and rock hard by this time
    it kicks up alot of dust that gets on the gears and everything..

Is it hard on the bike and how do you get the clay dust off? What is your cleaning routing after each ride? I just got a new bike and would like to take care of it like I take care of my cars etc.. Yet I don't think I am commited enough to take off my cassette and degrease it and relube it each ride, for 2 bikes

it seems to me the dust is more harsh than other regions that get a bit more rain that has more muddy and soft grounds.

aka baycat
    No it is not hard on the bike. These things are meant to get dirty and used.

I do two things depending on my level of laziness. Let the dust, mud, soil, clay, horse **** dry and then brush it off. Or hose it off after a ride and let dry or towel off. Stay away from blasting the bike with high pressure.

I lube my chain after it has been cleaned so it is ready for the next ride.

Feeling a little taller
    When it comes to dust, personally, I just clean and lube the parts after each ride. When I say clean, I mean that I typically just wipe off any dust and dirt with a soft rag. I might us a plastic-bristled brush to get any dirt from between the cogs and the chain rings. I flush the chain dirt out with a cheap thin wet lube and wipe it down with a rag, then apply new, thicker lube to the chain.

When it comes to the thick mud of winter, that's a different story.
    There are no stupid questions but there are A LOT of inquisitive idiots.

Bicycle Trails Council of the East Bay

mtbr member
    Sep 2010
    Can you recommend some products?
    maybe finish line citrus degreaser and the dry lube?