mtbr member

Bike Computers\GPS Trackers

Has anyone used the app simply called Bike Computer? Or what tracking app do you prefer? I use trailforks to track my rides. Don't really get involved in the whole Strava scene. Bike Computer is subscription based so I'm curious how good it is. I ride alone all the time, I'm a freelancer living in Marin so I weekday ride when I'm not working.

My wife insists that I drop a pin when I start so she can call out the dogs if I no show later. Bike Computer has a feature called 'keep me safe' that sends out an alert if your bike stops moving for a specified amount of time. This is appealing to me. Anyone use this or other functions on the app?

I know trailforks has an emergency function where you can call 911 or send a location, but automation is appealing in case you get crushed. 1st 2 screenshots are trailforks, 3rd is Bike Computer.

Otherwise what else do ya'll like for tracking\safety?

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

fc
    head minion Administrator
    Good question. I've been curious myself. I'm mostly alone, deep in the woods on weekdays.
    IPA will save America

just another bleepin SSer
    If tracking/safety is your primary goal, why not get a Spot or Delorme InReach?

Gets around some issues with phone based systems, such as lack of access when out of cell coverage. True that Spot/InReach may lose satellite contact in canyons, but the person can follow your dropped pins and see where you were prior to losing signal.

And Spot/InReach has a 911 button you can press, if you are still conscious and need help.
    --
    Getting old, fat, and slow...
    自転車が好きだよ

Moderator Moderator
    I use a Garmin Fenix 5x as ride computer and Garmin InReach Explorer as a safety net. The InReach has tracking and satellite text messaging.

mtbr member
    You're South Bay yeah? Always looking for a weekday ride buddy.
    Quote Originally Posted by fc View Post