wholly crap vbrakes suck when its wet out- Mtbr.com
    rg1
    mtbr member
    May 2010

wholly crap vbrakes suck when its wet out

Ok So i'm a total NOOB to bike technology. I bought my first real mountain bike this past summer a fisher wahoo with v brakes as its all they had and i really liked the bike. At the time i thought who needs disc anyway, i never had a prob stopping in all my 40 years using rim type brakes. Lately i"ve been really getting into the whole passion thing. call it a midlife crisis but i'm hooked.
    Well yesterday i almost killed myself twice. When the bike just would not stop. It had just started to mist out and just started to make the leaves wet and create wet conditions. First time going down a rooted hill i was trying to slow my descent a little and she just would not respond SO i grab a little harder and whammo the front grabbed harder than the rear and i go OTB crap that freakin scared the crap out of me. Dust myself off and proceed to go a little further up the trail same situation going down a rutted hill with a sharp turn at bottom in sand trying to slow and this time i purpously avoid the front brake until i almost slam my front tire and body into a large tree. Who decided that was a good place for that tree anyway. So at the last second i grab front brake and again OTB but i ddint hit the tree. Bike good I'm good a little bruised but good.
    So my question is are disc that much better or should i get different pads. I really like the bike and intend on upgrading it over time. Or should i just sell it and buy a bike with better components. Please help this NOOB out before the wife commits me for being crazy and ending up in a body cast.

mtbr member
    Aug 2010
    Had Vs on an old Bianchi HT and had a similar "DH" experience on a wet, clay-filled PA singletrack. Didn't go OTB but felt at the edge of brake failure in a white-knuckle kinda way.