Shimano XT 775 and Winter- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Shimano XT 775 and Winter

Right now I'm shopping for parts for the Niner Jet9 that just arrived. I found a good deal on XT 775's and everything looked good until I saw a review saying that they don't work at less than 40 degrees! Has anyone else had this problem. I ride all winter in New York and I get out early while the trails are still frozen, riding when it's between 0 and 32 degrees.
    I've been using BB7's for the past two years on my EMD9 with no problems, but I'm trying to save some weight and get the Jet to come in under 25 lbs. If the 775's are a problem in cold weather, what would you recommend for $200 or less front and rear..
    60; it's the new 40!

Never trust a fart
    If your worried about cold weather, there are 2 things you can do.

Nothing and like it. Sorry just kidding.

Pick a brake that uses DOT 5.1 brake fluid like Hope/Avid, etc, or stick with the BB7's

Soft AND Tender
    Jun 2005
    Unfortunately I have experienced the poor cold weather performance of xt brakes. I love the way they work in spring, summer and fall. In winter they just suck in the cold. I actually swap them out for bb7's in winter and then switch back to the xt's in spring.

I have no experience with other hydros in winter so can offer no advice there, sorry.

mtbr member
    I used to have them and they do in fact suck in the cold. Not sure they resolved that or not. It is probably the mineral oil.

mtbr member
    I'm riding saint's and it's no issue at all.....

"It looks flexy"

mtbr member
    Maybe it's been addressed? I may be venturing back to Shimano brakes on my new HiFi. The new XTR's look awesome.

Legend
    Nov 2004