rotor size?!??- Mtbr.com

Thread: rotor size?!??

-eddie.

rotor size?!??

hey whats the difference in the rotor sizes? I'm new to the disc brake world and have to know this stuff.

-eddie.
    also, good and bad b/t hydro and mechanical? I'm leaning towards the mech, think it will be easier in the long run. Any input would be awesome.

skaterqwertyuiop
    Larger rotors are for more stopping power, and obviously weigh more. The larger the rotor, the more leverage you get to stop the wheel.
    I run mechs (BB7s) and I love them on my AM/FR rig with 203mm rotors. I don't care about weight.
    Mechs and hydros are both pretty easy to set up usually, it's just personal preference.
    I like the BB7s because they take <5 minutes to install and adjust properly. They have been put through their paces as I ride them at Diablo, they've never disappointed me.
    It's not about what bike you ride, but how hard you tear it up :)

mtbr member
    Apr 2010
    185mm is a good all around rotor to have. its not too big and still has plenty of stopping power. i have ran both hyd and mech brakes, i prefer hyd because of the feel and lack of effort required on the pull. they really are 1 finger brakes. but the downfall to that is bleeding and leaks from a crash.

Juicy 3's are fairly cheap and do a great job if you aren't a weight weenie.

-eddie.
    I am definitely seeing the bb7 name thrown around the most, seems cheap too. I definitely believe I am going with them. Will any size rotor fit on any bike?

mtbr member
    Apr 2010
    yes, you just need the right spacer for the caliper so they line up.

Just Ride