please help on adjusting hydrolic breaks- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Nov 2006

please help on adjusting hydrolic breaks

HI all

I've got a set of Shimano XT, the ones where the gear shifter and break are in one. I would like to decrease the play for my rear break. The distance that I must pull my rear break to get a skid say is much more than I need to pull my front break and I would like them the same. Its also easier for me on the down hills when I dont need to pull it so far.

CAn anyone help me on how to adjust this, it would be much appreciated.

Thanks
    G

Gone riding
    Jan 2004
    Information on hydraulic brakes can be found in the Brake Time forum.

Good luck.

Dave.

mtbr member
    May 2006
    there is a very small 2.5mm adjustment that you screw in or out it is right where the lever goes into the housing.

Gone riding
    Jan 2004
    I’m no expert (hence the link to the Brake Time forum), but won’t that just change the lever position, not the actual bite point like gambithunt requires? I would give the system a good bleed first to see if that improves the feel.

Glad to Be Alive
    bleed your lines again........that will make it a shorter stroke/pull from on and off
    the trick is ENJOYING YOUR LIFE EACH DAY, don't waste them away wishing for better days

mtbr member
    May 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by Low_Rider
    Iím no expert (hence the link to the Brake Time forum), but wonít that just change the lever position, not the actual bite point like gambithunt requires? I would give the system a good bleed first to see if that improves the feel.
    Yes that will just change postion of the stroke of the lever.

The distance of the pads from the rotor floats with the pad spring strength.

Yes a bleed maybe required, difficult to tell from the given data.

Also he may need new pads and a spring??

So if you don't know try the lever adjust, if that don't work, check for pad wear, go to lbs buy pads and a bleed kit and your good to go?