Noob help...two week old bike rear brake locked up- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2010

Noob help...two week old bike rear brake locked up

I'm brand new to mountain biking but I've got several thousand road biking miles. I've always worked on my own brakes on my motorcycles and cars. I've owned this bike two weeks and have not messed with the way it came from the factory.

The brakes: Avid Elixir 5's front and rear.

The problem: Back wheel is locked up. At first I thought it was a drag issue with maybe the rotor and the mount slightly out of alignment but it is not. The front brake lever has about 1" of travel where 1/4" of that is the mechanical play and 3/4" is the actual "braking force". The rear brake lever has 1/4" of travel only, the hydraulics are tight as a drum. It takes significant force to turn the rear wheel by hand. No disc warping, no kinking of the brake line

I looked at the manual and it has no mention of this. It could be temperature related, it was over 90F this morning when I tried to ride.

I've ridden a ten mile loop last weekend and the brakes seemed fine.

Any links or suggestions? I'd really like to go for a ride tonight before I head out of town tomorrow. None of the shops around here are open on Sunday.

Thanks,
    David

ride hard take risks
    Caliper may need to be recentered and or a minor fluid release.
    Formotion Products
    http://www.formot

Noli Me Tangere
    Jul 2008
    See my other post 'Left Under the Sun'...
    Annie are you ok? Are you ok, Annie?

ride hard take risks
    Quote Originally Posted by Dial Tone
    See my other post 'Left Under the Sun'...
    Sounds like your still looking after 2 weeks of replies.
    Formotion Products

Noli Me Tangere
    Jul 2008
    I know, still awaiting for a definitive answer.

The original poster's brake problem sounds similar to mine. I have recentered my brakes and had some fluid release when I opened the lever cover and still have the same problem.