Magura Brakes Rubbing????- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2005

Magura Brakes Rubbing????

Hi,
    I admit I am no bike mechanic....I have Magura Louise brakes and recently took my rear wheel off and remounted it and now can't get it aligned to get my brake pads where they don't rub. I have done and undone the skewer several times in order to ensure that the wheel is aligned but with no luck.

the manual that came with the brakes says nothign in it about adjusting pad alignment.

Any ideas?

thanks

Matt

ride hard take risks
    Have you pushed on the seat with your chest while tightening the QR???
    Formotion Products
    http://www.formot

mtbr member
    If your brakes are rubbing like something's totally wrong, then something probably is.

But if you're just experiencing a minor rub, then you probably just need to fine tune your caliper mounting bolts.

I have Marta SL's on both my MTB's, and as long as I perform a minor readjustment of my calipers about once every 2 months, as the brake pads wear, or immediately following pad replacement, they are as trouble free as it gets.

First, loosen both of the bolts that cinch your brake caliper to your fork/swingarm/adaptor just slightly (1/2 turn loose should do). Now confirm your brake caliper can readily move side-to-side slightly under the bolts (that's the purpose of the elongated mounting bolt holes in your caliper), give the wheel an easy spin, and apply the brake lever for the caliper being adjusted. Hold it, don't let off. With your other hand, start tightening the caliper bolts. Cinch one down carefully, then the other, taking care not to allow the caliper position to be negatively influenced by overtightening one bolt before tightening the other (causing the clockwise motion of the tightened bolt to "twist" the caliper out of it's natural "clamped" position as determined by the brake lever you're still holding in the other hand.