Hydraulic disc brakes- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2010

Hydraulic disc brakes

Hey I'm kind of new at this so don't flame. What are the most cost effective hydros that work well for XC riding?

mtbr member
    Aaron, I have by no means tried or have experience with all brake brands. My personal preference is Shimano, partly because they use mineral oil and not DOT brake fluid which can be corrosive. I buy all my components from Chain Reaction Cycles. Their prices are very good. If I wanted a budget set of brakes, I wouldn't hesitate getting a pair of SLX M665 brakes. They come bled and ready to install. They are $160 a set.

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/M...?ModelID=28021

Locally from Price Point they are $280 a set.

http://www.pricepoint.com/detail/180...-W_O-Rotor.htm

Be aware that you will also need rotors if you don't already have.

Ronnie.
    The trouble with having an open mind is that people will insist on trying to put things in it.

mtbr member
    May 2010
    Thanks for the reply. I was looking at Juicy sevens but they seem to be getting bad reviews. Are they actually that bad?

...idios...
    Quote Originally Posted by aaron467
    Thanks for the reply. I was looking at Juicy sevens but they seem to be getting bad reviews. Are they actually that bad?
    For their value and quality, I'll agree with Ronnie and suggest Shimano, something like the SLX. They are typically known for their simplicity and reliability. No brand is without problems (or detractors), but Avid are well-known for unwanted noise and vibrations. In the UK, many call them Avoid, rather than Avid.

What use is a philosopher who doesn't hurt anybody's feelings? -
    Diogenes

mtbr member
    May 2010
    are these the ones? Shimano SLX BR-M665 Hydraulic, also are they hard to find?

...idios...
    are these the ones? Shimano SLX BR-M665 Hydraulic, also are they hard to find?
    Have you tried a web search? Checked your local shop or some of the online retailers?