Thread: holes in rotor.

mtbr member

holes in rotor.

Ok so I have tried to find out what the diiference in the hole in the rotors are. I like the ones with less material and bigger holes. What the difference in performance with the ones with smaller holes or barely any holes? Im building a wheelset and I like the looks of the hope saw blade but Im not an expert on these. my other choice would be like a Avid clean sweep. what to do, what to do. Thanks for your input
    60% of the time ......it works all the time

mtbr member
    Holes are mainly for reducing weight. They also help to churn up the air and increase cooling. On the downside, they reduce the amount of material for the pads to grab, and reducing the rotor mass reduces the amount of metal to absorb heat (heat sink).

In general, the light ones with big holes work fine, so the disadvantages aren't much to be concerned about, but I have read some people claim decreased stopping power of super light rotors.

b a n n e d
    Another factor to consider is what caliper you'll be using . . .

namagomi
    They're just speed holes... The more holes on the rotor the faster you go!!

mtbr member
    May 2011
    I think larger holes wear pads faster.

jx

mtbr member
    ^ They probably do. They'll create more scraping on the pad surface and clean the pads as they wear, also clearing any brake dust from the surface and preventing glazing. Like rubbing cheese against a grater vs a piece of sheet metal.
    Last edited by Tim-H; 07-18-2011 at 09:28 PM.

mtbr member
    I see. I don't want anything super light. I just wasn't sure if the ones with larger holes would decrease stopping power. There are just so many voices. What do you guys run?
    60% of the time ......it works all the time

mtbr member