Half an Inch Front Wheel Movement when front brake is applied- Mtbr.com
    AndesJack
    Nov 2009

Half an Inch Front Wheel Movement when front brake is applied

I need advice as to the source of this problem. I have a set of Avid 5's, more specifically the front 185mm rotor is on a Marzocchi 55ATA (New bike and parts 4 rides old). When stationary and I apply the brake the disc locks (all good) but then when I move the bike forward while applying the front brake, the wheel turns about half an inch. This can't be OK. Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

mtbr member
    Avid 5's? Do you mean Avid BB5 Brakes? Elixer 5? Code 5?

You should be able to lock the front tire at will, at least I can with my BB7 brakes. You could simply have something on your rotors like grease or oil. I am not a brake expert by any means, but I would check what I just suggested.
    Big Foot Blue KHS XC704r

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Pads can move in the caliper giving a "loose sensation". Apply the brake , rock it back and forth while a helper watches the caliper area .

...idios...
    Check all bolts (mounts/caliper/rotor). Check fork axle (QR20?). Is the axle o-ring greased?

Having a helper is indeed very useful at times like this. Have somebody recreate the issue while you grab caliper/fork/hub/whatever to identify the source of the play.

What use is a philosopher who doesn't hurt anybody's feelings? -
    Diogenes

mtbr member
    As was stated you need to find EXACTLY what's moving when you lock up the front brake... though if the disc locks as you said, I would look at the following (not in any particular order):

Loose caliper bolts (in the fork adapter/post mounts) as (SteveUK mentioned)
    Loose headset (not uncommon on a new bike after a few rides!)
    Play in the fork between the lowers and the stanchions (not likely on a new bike)
    Play in the stem/steerer/h-bar interface