Disc Brake Problems on Rear Brake - Advice? Opinions?- Mtbr.com

Jun 2006

Disc Brake Problems on Rear Brake - Advice? Opinions?

I visited my LBS and they said they haven't seen this one before.

I'll try to make a short story and get the point across...

I used a hex wrenches to set the distance on the rear (Coda) Disc Brakes. With the distance set I had about an inch play on my rear brake/handle. I started riding and noticed that they play was down to about 1/2 an inch (I thought this was good, because then I didn't have to squeeze it as far). Later I noticed the play was down to 0.

As a result I was having to work extremely hard to pedal. Later I realized the brake on the inside in the rear was tightening itself creating friction disc and the brake (removing the play in the brake handle).

I stopped... removed the rear wheel... loosed the inside brake... and was back to where I started... 1 inch play, etc, etc...

Started riding again, problem reoccurred.

My problem is, my rear brake tightens itself while I ride. The outside brake has a screw where you can set it where you want it. My inside brake... is as loose as a goose. There is no tension whatsoever... And there is not a screw to make it so (or set it).

On this inside brake, I believe I used to have to give it a little effort to turn, but now it is sooo loose.

Can I gunk this side up to keep it in place? (The LBS recommend that I use "blue something another" that can be purchased from a hardware store...)

Please let me know, so I don't have to stop every 5 miles to loosen the disc brake.

Thanks,
    S6
    Last edited by Shad6Bones; 07-14-2006 at 11:58 PM.

Crashin' since the 60's
    Your LBS was probably recommending a drop of blue Loctite on the screw threads that are moving under the vibration caused by riding. Any hardware store should have this stuff. Do not use red Loctite; this is more appropriate for bolts that are never to be turned.
    Flick Lives!

Jun 2006