Best disc system for XC/AM use and lightweight?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jul 2009

Best disc system for XC/AM use and lightweight?

I did a search and really couldn't find a good thread, if there is one, please point me to that direction.

I have some old Hayes disc brakes and inn effort to getting new pads, adapters, discs, replacement levers, etc.....I realize I might be dumping waaaaaay to much into old brakes when I could easily pay a bit more and get some brand new modern disc brakes.

I have a liking for Avid and Hayes stuff because I am familiar with their stuff since way back when I was a mechanic at a shop.

I would like a lightweight system that still has a lot of power for a 5" travel bike.

From the research I have done, it looks like there are a few options:

Hayes Stroker series
    Avid Juicy Ultimates
    Avid Elixir series

Are there any I am missing or any obvious choices?

I am not super worried about price (within reason), I will find a good price regardless (closeouts, ebay, classifieds, etc....) I just want to find the right brake then search for where to purchase them.

Thanks!!!!
    Last edited by rodH; 12-13-2009 at 10:25 AM.

mtbr member
    Feb 2008
    I have a giant trance X, 5" trailbike. It initially came with Juicy 7's (185/160). I was happy with them.

I then decided to get all weight weenie and bought a set of formula R1's. They were significantly lighter (~ 590g IIRC for 180/160 vs 930g for the avid 185/160) and I felt that they worked much better (better stopping power and better modulation IMO). Plus I love the lever shape.

I use the bike from XC to light AM riding and they have performed very well. My only gripe is getting the caliper centered for the first time. The pad clearance is very small (vs. avid/hayes setups that I've had) and it took awhile to get the pads drag-free.