Avid Nomenclature/differences- Mtbr.com
    I don't climb, I walk
    Nov 2009

Avid Nomenclature/differences

Hi all. I just started riding this year and have been considering upgrading from my Juicy 5 brake set. Thing is I'm not sure how the Juicy's compare to Code's or Elixirs etc.

I was wondering if anyone can share the differences between the Avid Product lines. Looking at their site now it appears the Juicy line is going away?

Thanks, Joe

aka bOb
    What the heck is a Nomenclature!!!

I don't climb, I walk
    Nov 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by bdundee
    What the heck is a Nomenclature!!!

Naming system i.e. Juicy vs. Code

mtbr member
    Apr 2009
    Juicy is replaced by elixir, they are an XC type brake which will survive (with larger rotors to light FR use.

Code is the dedicated FR and DH brake

Avid used to use numbers for model designation. 3,5,7 with the higher number designating a more feature packed/lighter brake. The elixir uses 5, R, CR, CR mag, XX as their model names
    Rimmer - "There's an old human saying - if you talk garbage, expect pain"

mtbr member
    Elixir 5 is an elixir caliper with a juicy 5 lever.
    Elixir R has an updated lever with reach adjust.
    Elixir CR has the same updated lever with reach and pad contact adjustment.
    Elixir CR mag is the Elixir CR with some magnesium bits.
    The XX brake is a super light version of the elixir.

The Code has a beefy lever designed for fr/dh use (breakaway lever design/ball bearing lever pivots) with a 4 piston caliper.
    The code 5 is a juicy lever with the code caliper.
    Build.
    Ride.
    Repeat.

mtbr member
    Nov 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by schneidie
    Elixir 5 is an elixir caliper with a juicy 5 lever.
    Elixir R has an updated lever with reach adjust.
    Elixir CR has the same updated lever with reach and pad contact adjustment.
    Elixir CR mag is the Elixir CR with some magnesium bits.
    The XX brake is a super light version of the elixir.