Avid Elixir 5s vs. Rs vs. CRs vs. Juicys?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Nov 2005

Avid Elixir 5s vs. Rs vs. CRs vs. Juicys?

Hello! I've been running Avid Juicy 5s for a few years and I've been fairly pleased with them. I'm now thinking about getting some new brakes, however, to put on a project frame, and I've been looking at Avid Elixirs. Can anyone tell me what the primary differences between the Elixir Rs vs. the 5s are?

I know that the Elixirs use a different master cylinder technology, upgraded pads, and better rotors from the Juicys, but are they really worth the difference? Are the Elixir 5s going to be better than my Juicy 5s? Should I just spring for some Elixir Rs?

Thanks in advance for your help. Ride on!

mtbr member
    Nov 2005
    I guess here's my question: are the Elixir 5s simply knock offs of the Elixir 7s (much like the Juicy 3s were of the 7s), or do they represent a significant upgrade over my Juicy 5s? Does anyone have any experience with these brakes?

Thanks!

mtbr member
    Aug 2005
    I think the 5's do not have the really "swank" lever reach adjuster that the R's have. Also, the caliper and hose connections are a little different. Other than that most of what I have seen and heard is that they are identical otherwise.

Meh.
    Elixir R and Elixir CR share the same caliper with a banjo fitting. The CR has adjustable pad contact. The R only has adjustable reach. The Elixir 5 uses the first gen Elixir R caliper that did not have a banjo fitting. The lever also forgoes the toolless reach adjustment that the R has.

Performance wise... the R and CR are identical. I am inclined to believe the 5 would be too as it shares the same technology and construction.

mtbr member
    Nov 2005
    Thanks guys!