Anyone had a failure of their hydraulic brakes?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Mar 2010

Anyone had a failure of their hydraulic brakes?

I'm talking the kind of failure that ends up with you pushing your bike back to your car. Ruptured hoses, leaking calipers, buggered up brake reservoirs, or anything like that.

Reason I ask is that while I like the power of hydraulics, I'm very leery of them. I don't trust them, as they are a very exposed system on a machine that us mtbr's tend to crash once in a while.

I've been running BB7's for maybe five years now, and overall I quite like them. I also like the fact that all I have to do is carry a spare brake cable, and I'm pretty much set for most trailside brake emergencies.

mtbr member
    Sep 2008
    do you ever worry about the brakes on your car failing those hydro's go thru alot more heat, element exposure, and abuse than a bike brake and they have been in use on every car for what 30 or 40 years. a little maintenance and TLC as far as cleaning calipers with a hose after a nasty muddy or very dry powder or sandy ride too clear the caliper surfaces of grit and dirt and a bleed every year or two and they should be fine. if your worried about bursting a line add some braided wire covered lines and i doubt you could rip one of those on a trail.maybe look into shimano set they use hydrolic mineral oil which is much less corrosive which can help cut on seal break down in the long haul. bottom line though is nothing last forever! but hydros are great in my opinion.

err, 27.5+
    Been running hydros for about a decade. 2 failures in that time...

1. bad o-ring, leaked oil from rear caliper. I rode the rest of the ride with front brakes.
    2. kinked a housing when I crashed. I rode the rest of the ride with 1 functioning brake.