203mm upgrade- Mtbr.com

Thread: 203mm upgrade

mtbr member
    Oct 2010

203mm upgrade

Im running a Gary Fisher Mamba 29er (full stock, besides pedals) and I was considering upgrading the standard 160mm front disc into a 203mm. I know i would need adapters and whatnot, but I wanted to know how big of a difference I would feel and if it was worth the 30 or 40 bucks?

Feel free to suggest discs, other parts worth upgrading, and any other tips/parts you feel inclined to show me. Im new to the sport and would love help.

Here is a link to the bike w/ full specs: http://fisherbikes.com/bike/model/mamba

Also: would I be better off investing a few more bucks and upgrading the brakes (Shimano BR-M416 mechanical disc)?

mtbr member
    Why not go to180mm first? i ride 160mm front and rear right now and im going up one step, a 203mm rotor is huge and might be overkill for that bike.

im no expert at brake sizes and stuff, just seems like you might want to go one step at a time..
    2008 Kona Caldera

"Today I saw my own son use a bicycle as a weapon....
    I seriously thought he was going to rape me"

mtbr member
    Oct 2010
    One thing i forgot to mention is that Im 6'4" and weigh 195 lbs, if that makes a difference

Bicyclochondriac.
    Jan 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by ZXFT
    Im running a Gary Fisher Mamba 29er (full stock, besides pedals) and I was considering upgrading the standard 160mm front disc into a 203mm. I know i would need adapters and whatnot, but I wanted to know how big of a difference I would feel and if it was worth the 30 or 40 bucks?

Feel free to suggest discs, other parts worth upgrading, and any other tips/parts you feel inclined to show me. Im new to the sport and would love help.

Here is a link to the bike w/ full specs: http://fisherbikes.com/bike/model/mamba

Also: would I be better off investing a few more bucks and upgrading the brakes (Shimano BR-M416 mechanical disc)?