185mm post mount adaptors?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jul 2009

185mm post mount adaptors?

Hi Guys,

I'm relatively new to this whole brake business, and I have one big question for you guys.

I recently bought a pair of Avid Juicy 7 brakes from an ebay store, and they didn't realize they had run out of 160mm rear brake sets. Instead they opted to send me a 185mm rear. I don't really want to put the 185mm rotor on the rear, and I'd much rather put that on the front. So what I'm wondering (these packages aren't in yet, I know this via ebay message), is if I can do this right out of the box (I'm running a Fox Vanilla 32 RLC on the front), or do I need to buy an adaptor to fit the 7 inch rotor?

Also, I know has probably been discussed quit heavily, but would it really be worth it to put on a larger rotor on the front (I have a new 160mm clean sweep just sitting around), or should I just stick to 160mm rotors?

thanks!

Yes, you will need a new adapter to put the 185 on the front, and you'll need the proper adapter to put the 160 on the rear. You will be MUCH happier with the bigger-in-front arrangement.

mtbr member
    I believe not only do you need a adapter but you also need the hardware kit also.
    Big Foot Blue KHS XC704r

mtbr member
    May 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by Dremer03
    I believe not only do you need a adapter but you also need the hardware kit also.
    I think the hardware kit that comes with the brake should work but he may need hardware to mount the new adapter on the front, not sure on that one. Avid adapters don't usually come with hardware.

mtbr member
    All I know is is when you look at the adapters online they dont come with hardware. When you look at the Hardware they have difference sizes that go with the brackets.
    Big Foot Blue KHS XC704r

AZ
    banned
    Adapters do not include hardware , use your existing hardware in alot of cases . Ask when ordering .

mtbr member
    Jul 2009