mtbr member
    Jul 2005

Woohoo!! My first mountain bike

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...MEWN%3AIT&rd=1

Check it out, let me know what you think, I just couldn't find anything at a LBS to compete with this...

What other gear should I look into now that I've got a bike on the way?

Totally Rad
    Jun 2005

Good job!

Pretty good parts spec. I've heard those I-beam seatposts can be problematic (tho I have no first hand experience). I also hear they have a wider adjustment range, a good thing on a bike that you haven't actually sat on, there's a good chance you'll be able to adjust it just right.

If the stem is the right length/rise, and the spring in the fork is the right firmness for your weight, then you're good to go!

Though, depending on your own mechanical proclivities, it might be a good idea to have a bike shop put it together and dial in all the adjustments.

I would check to make sure the zero-stack headset is a good one (most zero stack headsets that I've seen have sealed cartridge bearings). I have a $35 cane creek zero stack on mine, and it's smooth and works great. I had a non-cartridge headset on my last bike though, and it sucked.

Now you're gonna need a good pair of shoes for those Shimano pedals, Camelbak, multi tool, pump, helmet, glasses, shorts, jersey.

Enjoy the bike! How could you not?! It's yellow, the color of enjoyment!

mtbr member
    Jul 2005
    thanks for the thorough reply!

What's the average price to have a bike shop assemble a bike like this?
    What's a multi tool?