mtbr member
    Apr 2018

Upgrading after 17 yrs. to Giant XTC Advanced 29er

I've been riding Cannondale Headshock hardtails since 1993. I had a delta V700 that I loved that was stolen that I replaced with an F700. I ride around single track (horse trails) in Northern VA which are mostly dirt and roots, though I've been known to chainring crampon over the occasional fallen tree (16-20"dia). I have some decent skills, though I'm not doing any super high speed DH riding at local ski areas.

When it was affordable, I'd ship my bike out to CO and Tahoe to ride with local friends out there, and nobody was ever waiting for me. I'm comfortable in or out of the saddle, and have learned a solid range of techniques over the years.

My old Cannondale with the nominal headshock, like my umpteen year old 205 CM race skis and my 22 year old BMW have suited me fine. learned my sports the old fashioned way. without the helper equipment that has filled in all of these sports.

I'm getting ready to convert my Cannondale into a commuter E-bike with some thinner tires and a Bafang motor to make better use of the marginal shock. Then I'd buy a new MTB.

I found a great deal on a 2016 Giant XTC Advanced 2 29er, and am about to pull the trigger, but wondering about comments i read that these bikes are too "twitchy" and "unforgiving." I can't test ride since there are precious few MTBs stocked locally, so I'm doing a paper geometry comparison of head tube angle, top tube length, wheelbase to try to understand what the geometry is like. I don't see anything that drastic that tells me that I'd be riding something more difficult than I learned on. Are those warnings for new generation riders that came up with slack geometry bikes?

My Cannondale is a medium with a 110mm stem and it feels long. Im on the handlebars fairly heavy when I'm in the saddle and my hands and shoulders tend to hurt, so I figure I need to take about an inch out of reach.

Which leads to my questions: