trek 4500 or 6500- Mtbr.com

Feb 2005

New question here. trek 4500 or 6500

I test rode a few bikes today and have decide on either a Trek 4500 or 6500. My question is the 6500 worth the extra $250 or so. It does have disc brakes, which I hear are a plus. This will be my first bike and I am totally new to the sport. They both rode great but the 6500 just seemed to be built better. I set out with a budget of $800 max, and that would include any thing that i need in words of accerssories,helmet, what not. I seem to be really leaning toward the 6500 but any opinions would be helpful. Thanks
    Casey

Aug 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by TheWaker43
    I test rode a few bikes today and have decide on either a Trek 4500 or 6500. My question is the 6500 worth the extra $250 or so. It does have disc brakes, which I hear are a plus. This will be my first bike and I am totally new to the sport. They both rode great but the 6500 just seemed to be built better. I set out with a budget of $800 max, and that would include any thing that i need in words of accerssories,helmet, what not. I seem to be really leaning toward the 6500 but any opinions would be helpful. Thanks
    Casey
    i checked out those two at the lbs today, but i didn't really look that carefully. the 4500 is avail. with disc also, so don't limit yourself if that's the deal-making feature. that was a dumb sentence. i'll stop now.

Feb 2005

thanks

Quote Originally Posted by fish man
    i checked out those two at the lbs today, but i didn't really look that carefully. the 4500 is avail. with disc also, so don't limit yourself if that's the deal-making feature. that was a dumb sentence. i'll stop now.
    thanks for the response
    is that an Atom and His Package quote?
    yeah the 6500 is about $720 with disc at lbs
    but being new i do not know if i really need this
    i can afford the 6500 and think it would give me more room to grow