mtbr member
    Oct 2018

Thoughts on the Canyon Strive range

So for a while I have been looking at getting a dual suspension bike. One day a mate of mine suggested to check out Canyon bikes. When looking through their range, I found the Strive, which has the shapeshifting technology, which really intrigued me, as it was exactly what I was looking for in a bike. The one thing that really concerned me was the fact that they were an online company only, so they don't have any authorized dealers, so I can't go to a shop and sit on the bike and see how it feels, and most importantly, I can't take it to a shop to get fixed, and I am not very experienced with fixing bikes, as I have never really had to in the past, and I don't really think it is a great bike to learn how to fix things on.

So what are your guys thoughts on the bike. Does anyone own one, or owned one in the past. And do you have any alternate suggestions to this bike?

mtbr member
    Never had a Canyon but I have a friend who is interested in Strive and Spectral. He asked for my thoughts so I did some research and read up on the two models. I've had a lot of bikes over the years and one thing I learned is a bike with an unusual feature that adds complexity can be bad. The 'shapeshifting' thing would scare me. It's something that increases the chance of problems PLUS it's a very unique design specific to this mfg/model bike. The Spectral has a simpler suspension design and a rear shock with a 'climb' mode.

The Strive and Spectral both look like awesome bikes. The shapeshifting gizmo on the Strive is an interesting idea and it probably works great but you have to ask yourself WHAT IF IT FAILS? The answer is, you will likely be without a bike for a long time trying to get it addressed. For that reason I told my buddy that I would go with the Spectral.
    12 Santa Cruz Heckler
    18 Kona Process 153 AL/DL (27.5)...

mtbr member
    Oct 2018