Some help for a new guy please **new bike update**- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Nov 2011

Some help for a new guy please **new bike update**

Hey folks, I am just starting in this sport. I am new to mtn bikes but have rode bmx for years (though its been a few since I was riding). I am wanting to try mtn biking for a source off exercise and it has always looked like a absolute blast! I dot see myself ever getting into anything to rugged as far as trails go. So after reading an going to some lbs I have picked out 2 bikes i am interested in. The first is a connondale trail 5 from my lbs. Next is a hard rock sport disc 29'er (29'er sold)

A listing just popped up about a hour from me for excellent condition 2010 Gary fiaher marlin disc. Has a 19" frame an has 30 miles on it. He is asking 400. I believe I will be picking this up tonight.

I like them both a lot. However the trail 5 is 690 otd from my lbs and the hardrock is a lightly used 2010 model for 425.

The bike will be ridden on the road probly 5-6 times a week (around the neighborhood or at a park) and I will hit trails anywhere 2-6 times a month. Also I am 6'0 200lbs. And as for price the trail 5 is most I can spend unfortunately.

With what is given what would be your choice. If you need any other info just ask. Thanks in advance. I also apologize if this is in the wrong section.
    Last edited by JGguns; 11-23-2011 at 08:03 AM.

Freshly Fujified

I'd go with the Hardrock

If you have test ridden both bikes, and they both fit and feel comfortable, I'd go with the Hardrock. Both bikes are decent bikes for a first bike, but I like the SRAM drivetrain components and the Avid BB5 brakes on the Hardrock. Also, you're saving yourself some money, and I think you're getting better bang for your buck, provided it's in very good condition.

Just one man's opinion.

Bob
    'If Wal-Mart sold parachutes, who would jump?' Frank Havnoonian (quoting his father) Drexel Hill Cyclery

mtb enthusiast