Raleigh Venture 3.0 Vs. Trek 3900- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2006

Raleigh Venture 3.0 Vs. Trek 3900

Hi I am new to these parts.This might be posted in wrong section: Im debating between 2 bikes. I will be using it to ride to school and back and possibly round town and some light trail riding. I was trying to keep in the $300 range, the last bike I owned was Huffy Stone Mountain II, it sucked alot $75 kmart special. Anyway, yesterday I got a Raleigh Venture 3.0 the 06 model from a local shop for $299 normally like $320 before taxes, I like it alot, the plus to it is the built in shock on the seat.
    Im debatin on returning it for somthing cheaper I saw today, The Trek 3900 on sale for $259 normaly $320 on sale cuz it was some blue and gold color. I liked it too, the frame looked beefier ( i weigh 190 or so). The thing it lacked was a shock seat.

Can anyone tell me what would be the better buy/ better ride? Thanks
    Venture 3.0 specs
    Trek specs
    Also, could I add anything like this to either to improve my ride?
    I also considered Giant Boulder, and Specialized Expedition
    Last edited by motorpotor; 08-21-2006 at 10:50 PM.

ride hard take risks
    I think you would be better off with the Trek, the components are a step up sorta. The inexpensive suspension post are ok till they start to get flex front to rear after awhile.

mtbr member
    Aug 2006
    So the Trek is a better bike, even tho they are priced comparbly(orginaly)? So would you not recommend the suspension upgrade to the Judy xc since im a beginer?

ride hard take risks
    The Judy fork i wouldnt consider a up grade. At that price range they are all about equal, RS has a better brand name but it does not always mean it's better.

mtbr member
    Aug 2006
    Are these the kind of bikes youd even consider modifiying any part of it, since they didnt cost much in the 1st place?

ride hard take risks
    The Trek yes i would upgrade parts as they fail.

mtbr member
    Aug 2006