Proflex 854, Good bike or stay away?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2010

Proflex 854, Good bike or stay away?

Hello everyone, I am new to mtb and I was offered a Proflex 854 on a trade deal. I am not very knowlegable when it somes to bikes so any information would help. So basically is this a good bike for trails or should I stay away and look for something else? Thanks for your help!

Ibexbiker
    Apr 2006
    Wow, I think that is an oldie for sure. Someone please correct me but wasn't proflex bought by K2? Anyway's, I have not seen a Proflex on a trail around here in 12 years. That is most likely a bike from the late 80's or early 90's. It probably has an elastomer Girvin Vector fork and is most definitely dated. I would not trade anything for it unless your trading your old Comadore 64 or Atari for it.

mtbr member
    May 2010

So what your saying is to old to ride?

mtbr member
    May 2010
    Sorry for such a gigantic picture lol... dont know how to resize it... Please delte if a problem

rollin
    Oct 2009
    K2 actually bought ProFlex in 1993... It is an older model, doesnt mean you cant start out on it. I wouldnt trade/pay much for it though since it is most likely 15-20 years old and frames tend to wear out...

Cheers,
    Chris

mtbr member
    May 2010
    Here goes a better picture of it. Its really that old?

Former Bike Wrench
    1994...16 years old

http://www.bikepedia.com/QuickBike/B...=854&Type=bike

Looks like its in very good condition, but getting some parts for the fork (bushings) may be tough. You can get new elastomers from here so that covers your suspension a bit. It just depends on how much your trade is valued at...probably wouldn't exceed $150 or so.

mtbr member
    May 2010
    Was looking to trade a HD lcd Projector for a bike but that make sense about parts and things like that for a bike of that age.

mtbr member