Noob here. Looking for advice- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Mar 2007

... and if we just ... Noob here. Looking for advice

Hello.
    I am looking for some advice on what bike to purchase in the next few weeks. I am 26 years old and am 6"1 280lbs. I am not a huge ball of fat, yet i am out of shape. I am looking to start riding to get myself down to a respectible weight and to feel better. It has been a few years since i have been into biking and i have no clue what to buy. I would like to spend between $600-$1000 CAD on this bike. It will mostly be used on local small trails.

Any advice is apreciated

banned
    Feb 2007
    Here's my 2 cents.

I wouldn't recommend getting a full suspension bike unless you're planning on spending close to $1000 USD. The lower end suspension bikes are usually very heavy and come with lower end components. In that price range a hardtail bike would be a much better value.

I tell my friends who are not sure how much and how long they plan on riding to spend as little as they can to start out. I would recommend a Forge Bike.

$299 with the components that come on it, it's hard to beat.
    The frame is made by Giant Bikes.
    http://www.forgebikes.com/

If you think you're going to be dedicated and bike alot I would suggest increasing your budget and take a look at a nice full suspension bike (those mentioned in the $1000 and under FS bike thread).
    Last edited by jimmyK; 03-07-2007 at 04:29 PM.

mtbr member
    Mar 2007
    Thank you for the advice. The reason i was willing to spend so much is because i am so heavy right now. I am just scared that i will break a low quality bike. I looked at that link and that bike is a nice looking bike. Do you think i should be worried about it not being able to support my weight?

R.I.P. DogFriend
    "Do you think i should be worried about it not being able to support my weight?"