New Bike Advice Appreciated- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Feb 2012

New Bike Advice Appreciated

Hello, I am new to biking and really need some good advice. I am 52 years old, 5’ 10” 225 lbs. Typically I plan to use the bike after work for exercise and weekends for fun. I live in a rural area and the road conditions that I plan to ride on are a mixture of pavement and dirt roads with some sandy patches. For weekends maybe some single track trails. I have some birthday money that I have been saving for a bike and can afford to spend around 500 dollars.

I have been to 2 LBS, one has recommend a Specialized Crosstrail ($500) and the other a Trek Dual Sport 8.2 ($429)

I have taken both for a short ride and feel the 8.2 is a little faster than the Crosstrail and both have the same comfort level. I would love to hear any alternative suggestions that you may have, also if these bikes are good for what I plan to do then great.

I would consider buying a used bike or a new bike from a LBS.

The more I read the topics in the various forums, the more excited I am getting about biking and looking forward to and appreciate any advice offered.

mtbr member
    Feb 2012
    I had a lot of fun today, I went to the LBS today and road a few bikes, the 2012 Trek Marlin (580), 2012 Trek Wahoo (529) and a 2011 Specialized Hardrock 29er (500).

I am wanted to see the difference between the Dual Sport types and a hardtail bikes. As figured the hardtials were not as fast on the road but the ride was not too bad. I wish I could compare the Dual Sports to the others on the dirt roads and a little light trail riding to see what the difference is. I am thinking that maybe the hardtails might be a bit versatile.

mtbr member
    Sep 2010
    I'd suggest sticking with the LBS for your first bike. You get more for your money on the used market, but if you don't know what you're looking for or at, you can just as easily get bitten with a bad bike.