mtbr member

Need your experience and advice on these bikes!

I know there are probably a million posts like this one but help a new mountain biker out:

I am new to MTB but addicted to it - right now I only do singletrack and trails but want to also get some harder trails and freeride in - if I get braver. For the most part I still will do mostly single track/trails mostly b/c that's my level now and that's the terrain around here.

Looking at the following:
    Enduro Comp/Expert
    Kikapu Deluxe
    VT2

Want to get one used for my limited budget, What do you guys think of each bike in the 03/04 area? I am 5'10" and bounce around 185-195lbs.

Thanks everyone!

banned
    Nov 2004
    If you want to get more into freeride type trails i would go with the kona or vt but the giant has a shatty frame prone to breaking but if your in it for the workout go for the specialized. I love it. It shows you how much fun climbing can be

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by mtbsloth
    If you want to get more into freeride type trails i would go with the kona or vt but the giant has a shatty frame prone to breaking but if your in it for the workout go for the specialized. I love it. It shows you how much fun climbing can be
    Do you mean that the Enduro is a bit heavier? Also what do think about the rear shock on these - I think the VT has got the Swinger SPV but the others have just the fox float or something.

Would you say the Stumpjumper FSR is better than the Enduro?

mtbr member
    Jun 2004
    If you're looking to do harder trais, a Kona Dawg or Dawgmatic might be better than a Kikapu...

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by dinger
    If you're looking to do harder trais, a Kona Dawg or Dawgmatic might be better than a Kikapu...