Need a new frame! HELP ME PLEASE! (yes you!)- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2006

Need a new frame! HELP ME PLEASE! (yes you!)

I've had my tassajara for about a year now and what's apparent to me is its TOO BIG. Its a 21" and with genesis geometry the top tube is more like a 23" bike (its 25"+ ETT). I'm all stretched out and when I try to move and control the bike (I think you guys call it "huckability" --sorry I'm a noob), i can't get any leverage.

I've been searching for a new frame (I have a bunch of upgraded parts to swap). I want a more compact ride and light. I'm 6"2, but with a bit shorter arms, 205lbs with my gear. One of those bike fitting programs said a typical 18-19" bike would work for me. As for my style: I crash because I suck, but otherwise don't ride too hard. 80% of my riding is commuting around the city anyway.

I've looked at Kona Primo/Deluxe (hard to find), Kona Supreme, Klein attitude (ebay), and specialized M5 s-works (too much bank).

Then I got thinking....maybe I should go with a cheaper frame--say a leader 516H or the new Ibex Trophy that's coming out. I also saw a Jamis 2005 Dakota on jenson for $145

So to boil it down:

-Kona Primo $450
    -Kona Supreme $550
    -Leader 516H $145
    -Jamis Dakota $150
    -Ibex Trophy $299

I'm going to try to test maybe the Kona's, but its hard for me to tell how something works without riding it on my trails. I have an idea of what my new geometry should be like on paper: ~24" ETT, ~31" Standover, BB Height ~12" and able to take a 100mm fork. With one of those cheaper frames I could perhaps get a lighter, shorter travel fork, such as the Reba Team I've been eying up.

I guess the bottom line is I'm looking for feedback on the frames, particularly the cheaper ones. I just found the Jamis last night. Looks sweet.

Thanks for your help

Edit: I did see a Moto Rapido on ebay and a 19" Fisher HKEK for 100 bucks on ebay, but I'm not sure about used on ebay....

Cuánto pesa?