Need help picking a mid level hard tail. Please Help- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2010

Need help picking a mid level hard tail. Please Help

Hey everyone. I know you guys get these posts all the time but I really want some opinions from the guys thats been doing this for awhile. I am a noob to mountain biking and need some help deciding on a bike with good components that ill be able to grow into and that will get me the most for my money. I know i want disc brakes and a strong frame that can take a beating. Other than that I really don't know much. I use to ride bmx but want to try something different.

1) Your budget. My budget is 600-800 dollars. Nothing over $900

2) What bikes, if any, are you already considering?

2011 Rockhopper Comp $830
    http://www.specialized.com/ja/en/bc/...4121&gold_ses=

2011 Rockhopper Int
    http://www.specialized.com/ja/en/bc/...nuItemId=14121

2011 Giant Talon 29er 2 $750
    http://www.giant-bicycles.com/en-US/...11/6966/43134/

Trek 4500 $750
    http://www.trekbikes.com/us/en/bikes...4_series/4500/

3) What type of riding do you intend to do? Cross Country, Downhill, paved paths

4) Do you have a preference over a hardtail or full suspension? Hardtail

5) Age and weight. 27, 155lbs, 5'9

6) What sources will you consider buying from? LBS mainly since i live right around the corner to one.

7) Do you want people to offer you alternative suggestions to issues such as budget, bikes already considered, and sources? Yes please feel free.

Also what's your opinion on the 29rs? Are they worth the extra money?

Thanks in advance
    Last edited by ultramarine4000; 08-04-2010 at 07:53 PM.

mtbr member
    Oct 2007