mtbr member
    Dec 2010

Need help with big purchase!!!

OK guys I'm looking to buy a full suspension xc bike. I have been riding the same bike for the last 10 years, an airbourne ti hardtail with chris king hubs raceface cranks and bb xtr v-braks and rear derailer. I'm running a 9 speed with a paul guide, manitou r7 forksit weighs in at about 22lbs. I like to do sport level races, and one or two xterra offroad tri's I'm usually good for a 12 hour or an adventure race a year as well all int the maryland, northern va, and pennsylvainia area.

I go about 5'10" at 170lbs
    So the bikes I have been considering are the

Santa cruz blur
    Scott spark (saw a small spark 40 for $2,500 on ebay)
    Ellsworth truth

I'm a little scared of the carbon bikes being fragle but that could be that last time I looked for a bike was 2000 or so. As far as price I don't want to buy a bike and wish I would have stepped up with that extra money and got that better bike

Please help!!!

mtbr member
    Jul 2006
    I don't think you need to fear carbon. The fact that you've been riding a 22 lb bike with and R7 fork leads me to beleive you're not particularly hard on your equipment. I still have a 15 year old carbon hardtail that's still going strong.
    Warning: may contain sarcasm and/or crap made up in an attempt to feel important.

mtbr member
    Dec 2010
    OK with that said is the Santa Cruz Blur XC xtr build worth the money? That is the bike I would lean too but the price and carbon was holding me back. Even at a discount, is $4,500 dollars worth the differance for a $2,500 scott spark 40 or comperable bike for $2,500 or so?

mtbr member
    Jul 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by eod2135
    OK with that said is the Santa Cruz Blur XC xtr build worth the money? That is the bike I would lean too but the price and carbon was holding me back. Even at a discount, is $4,500 dollars worth the differance for a $2,500 scott spark 40 or comperable bike for $2,500 or so?