kona shred or specialized p.2?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2007

kona shred or specialized p.2?

I cannot decide between these two bikes, and maybe somebody can help. Whatever I decide on will be used actually very little for dirt jumping, and mostly for some small freeride/downhill stuff I have around the house. It will also be used as a second bike for when friends want to come ride XC with me. They can take my Fisher, I'll ride the heavy dirt jumper for a good workout, although I have heard these bikes climb fairly well for what they are. I really don't see myself dropping more than 3 feet for quite some time, and I will have some nice transistions built, so there shouldnt be too much stress put on the bike. Ofcourse I am new at this, so the bike will have to survive my learning curve. These are the only two sub $1000 bikes I know of, and if there are more bikes out there that may be suitable, let me know! Maybe a used Kona Dawg? Thanks so much
    Russell

SuperInstigator
    Out, of those two, the P2 all the way. It has a much better parts spec.

But if you want a more freeride/occasional xc oriented bike, check out the Ironhorse Yakuza Bakuto. it has a much better parts spec for less money, and a probably more capable XC bike than the p2 or shred.
    I wish I didn't know now what I didn't know then.

mtbr member
    Jan 2007
    Thanks for the reply man. I thought nobody was gonna. I am supposed to go look at a Norco VPS 6 tonight, but if that falls through, I will definately take a look at that bike. I just checked out the link...it looks pretty nice

SuperInstigator
    Ahh, so you are also considering FS bikes. The VPS 6 looks nice, 6 in. travel, great for an all around bike, but I'm not sure of the weight.

mtbr member
    Jan 2007