Jamis Frames- Mtbr.com

Thread: Jamis Frames

mtbr member
    May 2005

Jamis Frames

Need some advice. I have been looking at buying either a Jamis Dragon (853 Steel) or the Jamis Dakota Elite (Aluminum with carbon seat stays). I have been riding a dual suspension for about 8 years now and my frame has become pretty beat up. Most of the trails along the front range begin by going straight up for about 5 miles...maybe a little exaggeration there but I want something that climbs well and won't beat me up too bad. If anyone has any experience with these frames or could recommend others similar I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks

Doesntplaywellwithmorons!
    I'd get the dragon over the dakota myself. Carbon seatstays make such a minor difference on an Al hardtail in comfort level, that you find yourself wishing they'd just made the frame in steel instead.
    I don't post to generate business for myself or make like I'm better than sliced bread

Doesntplaywellwithmorons!
    Its not that 853 is a magic steel, any XC chromoly frame would do pretty much other than oh, a Surly Instigator (which its rather over-built I find). I'd personally look at a Soma myself as they use Tange Prestige steel if I was shopping for a new steel hardtail frame.
    I don't post to generate business for myself or make like I'm better than sliced bread

mtbr member
    Oct 2007