Interesting Bike question...- Mtbr.com
    Live Free and Ride
    Dec 2006

Interesting Bike question...

I have been riding off and on for about the last 10 years or so and currently ride either a Santa Cruz Superlight or a Santa Cruz Bullit. I have two main problems and they've been enough to sort of keep me off the trails a bit more than I'd like. 10 years ago I had all kinds of dirt roads to ride where I live (the SoCal - south western Riverside county) and now I'd say about only 10% of the trails/dirt roads are left. My last ride I think I spent about 80% of the time on the road.
    I currently weigh about 225 and am around 5' 11". My riding style is more of the go out-ride-whatever-I-find type of thing. XC bikes are to lite for me and my style and the Bullit...well while it's an awesome bike riding it on the road just seems like a total waste..of a good bike and of my energy.
    I guess after that long introduction I'm wondering....is it time to hang up the mountain bike and get a road bike <shudders> or is it time to look into this new movement of all mountain hard tails? Is it time to take the best bits off of the Bullit and throw them on say a Chameleon so I can ride the road and still be able to pound the dirt (when I find it) and throw it off a few obstacles? (I don't ride the superlight much because I'm afraid of my weight being too much for it....my model is I think an 01 or 02 and I was told they had a weight limit of 240 or so...jumping it off of anything more than a curb would be BAD!!!).
    Mind you I'm not a super jumper or hitting the local parks but i do ride hard and enjoy tossing the bike around a bit.
    Any ideas (price isn't such a big deal right now as I'm only just getting into the whole search thing). Any ond else running into the same problems in their riding area?
    Thanks in advance for any responses everyone might be able to provide and I look forward to reading them.

ride hard take risks