mtbr member
    Feb 2018

I need an upgrade

So I'm still riding my 1998 S-Works hardtail with a marzocchi 80mm X-Fly fork. It's time to upgrade. I ride single track, but no steep drop offs, and overall cross country of all types of terrain from technical to fire roads. (I ride in So Cal/Angelus Oaks area) I'm looking at the 27.5 Stumpjumper or the Camber. I'm not interested in 29in wheels. Considering the bike I've been riding for nearly 20 years I'm imaging that going to a modern bike would be a massive difference. Will I notice any difference between the Stumpjumper and the Camber? I'm leaning toward the Camber because of price alone, but I'm wondering if there is any reason why I should hold out for the SJ. From what I've been reading they are very similar geometry wise.

Thanks in advance for any advice/insight!

mtbr member
    SJ has more travel and judging by the description of your riding, a Camber would be faster and more efficient.

I know you're not interested in 29, but I went from a 2003 fs to a modern fs bike and the biggest improvement was going from 26 to 29 wheels, which made an enormous difference in the rough terrain I ride. I could ride much faster and with more comfort. Of course the improved suspension, geometry, and 1X were all there as well. In your case, going from a 80mm hard tail to modern FS will be enormous in itself irrespective of wheel size. IMO, one thing you'll certainly notice is the slower steering slacker geo and less responsive pedaling.
    Do the math.

mbtr member
    Quote Originally Posted by DJHill View Post